Local Government and Useful Links

Favourite Links

The Town of Goderich is known as Canada’s Prettiest Town. Queen Elizabeth gave the town this title when she visited in 19 . Goderich was founded in 1856 by William ‘Tiger’ Dunlop. On Sunday afternoon, August 21, 2011 a destructive tornado ripped through ‘Canada’s Prettiest Town.’ Major damage was done to the Sifto Salt Mine, our historic Courthouse Square and Park, much of our parkland and many residences, some of which have major historic value.

Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh Located in the Northwest corner of Huron County, ACW is a vibrant community including the hamlets of Benmiller, Dungannon, Auburn, Kingsbridge, Carlow and Nile. The coastline includes some fantastic sandy beaches and is home to many cottages.

Municipality of Central Huron stretches from the shores of Lake Huron from immediately south of Goderich to Bayfield and east to Clinton. Home to prime agricultural land, this natural playground has much to offer from spring fairs, small town charm and recreational fun.

Municipality of Bluewater incorporates Bayfield and the former Hay and Stanley Townships. Home to sandy beaches and the charming Village of Bayfield, this is a destination well know across Ontario.

Municipality of North Huron is centred around Wingham, childhood home of Alice Munroe. The Blyth Festival Theatre is also found here, one of Canada’s Premier small town theatres.

Municipality of South Huron encompasses the Town of Exeter and the surrounding former Townships of Usborne and Stephen. South Huron stretches from the Lake Huron Shoreline just north of Grand Bend all the way to Kirkton, a small village on the border with Perth county. South Huron has a rich agricultural community and is home to the Exeter Rodeo each summer.

Huron East is bounded on the east by Perth County. It includes the communities of Seaforth, Vanastra and Kippen.

Morris-Turnberry Township is within one hour of major cities and only 30 minutes from the Lake Huron shoreline. The Township is diverse, offering a great setting for industrial, commercial and residential growth. Fine Dining, Golfing, Walking Trails and Snowmobile trails and a friendly environment make Morris-Turnberry a wonderful place to locate or visit.

Huron County Health Unit Headquartered in Clinton, the health unit is responsible for all aspects of public health including septic systems.

Maitland Valley Conservation Authority is the Conservation Authority responsible for water Stewardship in the northern half of the county.

Ausable-Bayfield Conservation Authority was the first of thirty-six Conservation Authorities that were created across Ontario in 1946 to ensure the protection and stewardship of waterways.

Huron County

Bruce County stretches from Huron County‘s northern border all the way to Tobermory, at the most northern tip of the Bruce Penninsula which separates Georgian Bay from Lake Huron. This geologic structure can be found snaking it’s way along the Ontario landscape from Niagara Falls to Manitoulin Island. The entire length can be hiked.

Perth County

Middlesex County

Huron County Tourism

Huron County Library